Design Project: UES Apartment

Hi friends!  As you know, I have always loved interior design and often fantasize about what it would be like to actually do it as a career.  Recently, I got an amazing opportunity to design a one bedroom apartment on the Upper East Side as a little side project.  The requirements are: low budget (it’s a “guest” apartment), modern, with neutrals and clean colors.  I started off by checking out the apartment and putting together a presentation with room ideas.  Take a peek below at my initial thoughts…

Slide5

Slide6Slide7

My “client” liked what I had put together but asked that we make it a little more modern and had a few Ikea pieces in mind that she wanted me to incorporate.  So here is phase two of the look book (that lovely free standing TV has an Ikea custom cabinet that couldn’t be copied into the presentation).

Slide05 Slide07 Slide08

Most of the pieces above were found on Ikea, Target, One Kings Lane (one of my all time favorites), and West Elm.  You can totally decorate an apartment and make it look nice without breaking the bank!

As you can tell, we are still early on in the design process but have established the basics, which I can’t wait to share with you.  It has been so fun to try to incorporate my own taste but also challenge myself to work with a different style than my own.  If you’re interested, check out my “Project” Pinterest board to see more inspiration for the apartment!

XO

Meg

PS – Unfortunately, the boys didn’t take a liking to my track-what-you-eat project, so we will have to revisit that post at a later date (Maybe after I bribe them with food.).

Leave a comment