Costume Gala Gals

On Sunday night, extremely exhausted from the eventful weekend (Did I mention I love guacamole and margaritas?), I dragged my ars off Bry’s couch to go for a little stroll on the Upper East Side (a.k.a. Antarctica) while Bry was busy playing b-ball with the boyz (had to).  As I decided first avenue wasn’t doing it for me, I continued to venture on westward where I feel more “at home”.  As I approached the park I realized, Hey, why not take a walk towards the Met for old-time sake?  As I got closer I saw trucks and what looked like a huge construction site; somewhat disappointed I trudged on until I started seeing trucks that read, “Red Carpet Company” and things of that nature.  Putting two and two together I realized they were setting up the COSTUME GALA (!!!!) and let me tell you… it was a serious New York moment.  The streets were so quiet and peaceful as I watched the grand entrance being constructed with people placing roses one by one into the walls and people running around like madmen trying to make this thing all come together.  One of my favorite fashion events every year, there are always A LOT of surprises to look forward to and A-listers to last a lifetime.  Now it would’ve been a little bit cooler to have been there last night, but it still feels a little more exciting this year, having seen the set up right in front of my (bleary) eyes!  Here are my takeaways:

The Good…

Met Gala -  Lauren Bush and David Lauren

Not so punk but Lauren Bush always looks au naturale and amazingMet Gala - Allison Williams

Don’t even love the dress but Allison Williams looks amazing.Met Gala - Blake

Oh Blake, do you ever look bad?Met Gala - Cara Delevingne

Cara Delevingne pulls off punk well.  SO gorgeous!  I wish I could rock those eyebrows.Met Gala - Emma Watson

I have such a girl crush on Emma Watson.  She can do no wrong.Met Gala - Giselle

I mean, come on.  Is she up to 3 kids now?  Annoying.Met Gala - Jessica Alba

Jessica Alba looking beautiful per ush.Met Gala - Jessica

Jessica Alba looking gorgeous in her mesh dress.  No one, I mean no one else would look good in this.Met Gala - Kate Bos

Love Kate Bos’s little number.  Would totally wear this – punk or not (and if I dropped about 50 lbs).Met Gala - Miranda

Speaking of dropping 50 lbs.. yikes.  I think Miranda should try eating while chasing around her little chubby son (who I am so in love with – look at those cheeks!).  But of course, she still looks beautiful.  Met Gala - Nina Dobrev

Love how Nina plays up the punk theme with her pant/dress and poufed hair.  Killin’ it!Met Gala - Rooney Mara

Rooney Mara wears white!  How ironic.Met Gala - Rosie Huntington

LOVED Rosie Huntington’s look with the olive green and winged bodice.  Her clean hair and makeup makes for an interesting contrast with the edgy dress.Met Gala - Sienna MillerSienna Miller makes anything look cool.  Can I raid your closet please?!

The Bad…

Met Gala - January Jones

Guess who?  The unrecognizable January Jones.  January, you confuse me beyond belief.Met Gala - Katie

A swing and a miss by Katie Holmes… Met Gala - Kim

No, no, no, no, no.  (Please notice the gloves to match the dress… what?)Met Gala - MK Olsen

AHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!  (my initial reaction to seeing MK)  WTF is going on here?  Just terrible.Met Gala - SJPI used to think SJP could pull anything off… until now.  It brings me back to that horrid bird on her veil in Sex and the City (the movie).  Let’s not go overboard now SJ.  (Note: Would’ve loved just the dress.)

The Ugly…

Met Gala - Anne

How do I begin? Met Gala - Ashley

Ashley Greene who is a usual stunner must have been sick of the spotlight because she is hiding in the dress.  Way too much fabric = extremely unflattering.  I hope it’s just the camera angle. Met Gala - Elle Fanning

Just wrong in so many ways.  The first things that come to mind are: hippie, Pocahontas, Hook. Met Gala - Ginnifer

“A” for effort but I could seriously do without the black-eyeshadow-to-the-brow look.  Yuck.Met Gala - MileyBeyond words.  Has she gone off the deep end with the rest of them?

Alrighty that’s enough criticisms for one day.

Have a wonderful Tuesday (sigh) and let’s get through this one together!

XOXO

(Pics from People & Huffington Post)

Leave a comment